Wisconsin Lakes

We Speak for Lakes

WI Lakes

Congratulations to the 2024 Wisconsin Lake Stewardship Award Winners!

Awardees were celebrated at a banquet early in April as part of the Wisconsin Lakes & Rivers Convention in Stevens Point

By Wisconsin Lakes staff

2024 Lake Stewardship Winners (l-r): Kerry Romsa, Jeff Meessmann, Big Doctor Lake Association, Tracy Arnold; Photo Credit: Doug Moore

The Wisconsin Lakes & Rivers Partnership announced the winners of the 2024 Wisconsin Lake Stewardship Awards at the Wisconsin Lakes & Rivers Convention this April in Stevens Point. Four individuals and groups were awarded this annual distinction, which represents the best collective effort of the Partnership to honor and celebrate all of the incredible work that goes into ensuring the future of our state’s legacy of lakes.

We’ll be highlighting each winner in June as part of Lakes Appreciation month, so watch this space for more details, but the winners in 2024 included:

Excellence in Public Engagement Award*

Jeff Meessmann, Last Wilderness Alliance

Excellence in Building Partnerships Award

Kerry Romsa, Pelican Lake Association  

Programmatic Excellence for Lake Health Award*

Big Doctor Lake Association

Excellence in Professional Service Award

Tracy Arnold, Portage County Land & Water Conservation

* – The winner of these awards are nominated to the North American Lake Management Society’s corresponding award for national recognition

Do you know of an outstanding person or group who dedicates time and talent to our state’s water resources? We encourage you to nominate them for a 2025 Wisconsin Lake Stewardship Award! Nominations are open now and will be accepted through December 1, 2024.